The Park

Alonissos-parc-marin

In addition to Alonissos same four main islands (Pelagos Gioura, Psathoura and piperidine) and 22 uninhabited islets and rocky outcrops make up the National Marine Park, north of the island. You will see (maybe) of Audouin’s gulls, shags, dolphins and monk seals. They have almost disappeared due to pollution, overfishing and other human activities. The creation of the Marine National Park and private associations has halted this process and maintain a small colony that you may have the chance to observe.

Some History

Alonissos-parc-marin-2

The need to protect the seal of the Mediterranean was the reason for creating the marine park. The efforts began in 1983 with the signing of the Agreement between the Ministry of the Environment, Infrastructure and the European Union on the implementation of the initial research whose purpose was to estimate the environmental value of the area. The park area is great and contains a natural Mediterranean ecosystem, very harmonious and balanced. The caves of the earth, stalactites, stalagmites, the caves of the sea and submarines have an interest not only aesthetic but also biological. The geological and biological evolution of the Northern Sporades has its origins in prehistoric times, where an existing islands were united with Mount Pelion peninsula.

dolphin-Alonissos

The Mediterranean Monk Seal (Monachus monachus) is now endangered and known population is the largest in the Mediterranean. The flora and fauna of the deserted islands are ideal for the food needs of the seal and include the conditions for its reproduction.

The island is PIPERI natural shelter for the seal and that is why the approach within 3 nautical miles is prohibited. The approach is permitted only research groups who have special permission. The deserted islands in SE Alonissos is a haven for wildlife. The island Ghioura is a botanical paradise flowers and rare species. It also has the rare ibex there. On the rocks of the island Skantzoura found a rare species of hawk.

At Gherakas (north side of Alonissos) facilities whose purpose is to house the research activities in the area of the marine park are encountered. The function of the marine park, monitoring the area, in addition to protecting the seal monachus monachus and other rare species, contributes to the creation of an exceptional tourist environment.

Ecosystem

Maritime areas of the park are a haven for many species of fauna and terrestrial and marine endangered flora.

ecosysteme-Alonissos

The islands are covered with forests of Mediterranean conifers like pine, maquis shrubs such as bearberry, dwarf cedars, and a wide variety of species.
The park is an important habitat for many fish species (about 300), birds (over 80 species), reptiles and mammals as well. The monk seal (Monachus monachus), red coral (Coraliu mrubrum), Eleonora’s falcon (Falco eleonorae) The ibex (Laru saudouinii), the shag (Phalacrocorax Aristotelis) and Gyaros ibex (Capra aegagrus) are some some of the characteristics of rare species in the area. Among the birds that live in the park there are Bonelli’s eagle (Hieraetus fasciatus), cormorant (Phalacrocorax carbo), the Herring Gull (Larus cacchinans) or The Swift (Apus apus and Apus melba). The most common dolphin and whale species are short-beaked common dolphin (Delphinus delphis), the striped dolphin (Stenella coeruleoalba), the bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops truncatus), the sperm whale and beaked whale.

Le Parc

Alonissos-parc-marin

En plus d’Alonissos même, quatre îlots principaux (Pelagos, Gioúra, Psathoura et Pipéri) ainsi que 22 îlots inhabités et des affleurements rocheux composent le Parc national marin, au nord de l’île. Vous y verrez (peut-être) des goélands d’Audouin, des cormorans huppés, des dauphins et des phoques moines. Ces derniers ont bien failli disparaître à cause de la pollution, de la surpêche et autres activités humaines. La création du Parc national marin et d’associations privées a permis d’enrayer ce processus et de maintenir une petite colonie que vous aurez peut-être la chance d’observer.

un peu d’histoire

Alonissos-parc-marin-2

La nécessité de protéger le phoque de la Méditerranée était le motif de créer le parc marin. Les efforts ont commencé en 1983 par la signature de l’accord entre le Ministère de l’Environnement, de l’Équipement et l’ Union Européenne concernant la réalisation des recherches initiales dont le but était d’estimer la valeur environnementale de la région. L’espace du parc est idéal et contient un écosystème méditerranéen naturel, très harmonieux et équilibré. Les cavernes sur la terre, les stalactites, les stalagmites, les cavernes du bord de mer et sous-marins ont un intérêt non seulement esthétique mais aussi biologique. L’évolution géologique et biologique des Sporades du Nord a ses origines aux temps préhistoriques, où les îles existantes constituaient une presqu’île unie avec le mont Pélion.

dolphin-Alonissos

Le phoque de la Méditerranée (monachus-monachus) est aujourd’hui menacé de disparition et sa population connue est la plus grande de Méditerranée. La flore et la faune des îlots déserts sont idéales pour les besoins de nourriture du phoque et consistent les conditions propres à sa reproduction.

L’îlot de PIPERI est l’abri naturel pour le phoque et c’est pourquoi l’approche à moins de 3 miles nautiques est interdite. L’approche n’est permise qu’aux groupes de recherche qui ont une autorisation spéciale. Les îlots déserts au S.-E. d’Alonissos sont un paradis pour la vie sauvage. L’îlot de Ghioura est un paradis botanique pour des fleurs et espèces rares. Il y a aussi l’espèce rare de bouquetin. Sur les rochers de l’îlot de Skantzoura on trouve une espèce rare de faucon.

À Gherakas (coté nord d’Alonissos) on rencontre les installations dont le but est d’abriter les activités de recherche dans l’espace du parc marin. La fonction du parc marin, la surveillance de la région, outre la protection du phoque monachus-monachus et des autres espèces rares, contribue à la création d’un environnement touristique d’exception.

Ecosysteme

Les zones maritimes du parc sont un refuge idéal pour de nombreuses espèces de faune et de flore terrestres et marines en voie de disparition .

ecosysteme-Alonissos

Les îles sont couvertes de forêts de conifères méditerranéens comme le pin, maquis d’arbustes tels que le raisin d’ours, des cèdres nains, ainsi qu’une large variété d’espèces.
La superficie du parc est un habitat important pour de nombreuses espèces de poissons (environ 300), d’oiseaux (plus de 80 espèces), les reptiles et les mammifères aussi. Le phoque moine (Monachus monachus), le corail rouge (Coraliu mrubrum), le faucon d’Eléonore (Falco eleonorae), Le bouquetin (Laru saudouinii), le cormoran huppé (Phalacrocorax Aristotelis) et le Gyaros bouquetin (Capra aegagrus) sont quelques-unes des caractéristiques d’espèces rares présentes dans la zone. Parmi les oiseaux qui vivent dans le parc il y a l’aigle de Bonelli (Hieraetus fasciatus), le cormoran (Phalacrocorax carbo), le Goéland argenté (Larus cacchinans) ou Le Martinet noir (Apus apus et Apus melba). Les espèces les plus communes de dauphins et de baleines sont le dauphin commun à bec court (Delphinus delphis), le dauphin bleu et blanc (Stenella coeruleoalba), le grand dauphin (Tursiops truncatus), Le grand cachalot et la baleine de Cuvier.