Alonissos

Alonissos-beach

The Sporades archipelago was for many years forgotten of tourism who preferred the Cyclades. During the last decade, the tourist exploitation of Cyclades and changing tourism trends towards more authentic and less brutalized by human activities locations, have prompted some travelers to visit the Sporades. The nearest continent Sporades have experienced an intense tourist development, as Skiathos (and its airport) or Skopelos.

Alonissos was declared National Marine Park in 1992 with the help of the European Union, which assured the island a destiny different from her sisters. The island and its surroundings contain an ecosystem relatively undisturbed by man as evidenced by the presence of the fragile monk seal, the second rarest pinniped in the world. Preservation of archaeological sites is an additional reason why the island has managed to develop a more responsible and conscious preservation of fauna and flora tourism, on land and in the sea water is clarity exceptional and the place is a paradise for snorkelling enthusiasts.

With almost 3,000 inhabitants, mostly fishermen and farmers, the island stretches about 40 km. Three villages concentrated in the southern part of the island almost all houses:

Patitiri

Alonissos-patitiri

PATITIRI is the main port and the busiest village. There are the big shops, rental of all types of vehicles, the town hall, health center and doctors, two pharmacies, a bank and of course, lots of tavernas and bars, waterfront .

The Old Village

Alonissos-village

The old town (‘Xhora), was strategically placed high in order to monitor the arrival of pirates. After the earthquake of 1966, the village was rebuilt identically. At this height, you can see the sea around the island extends to the north-east and part of the small uninhabited islands nearby. The sunset on Skopelos is not to be missed. Lively town, especially at night, it is home to great restaurants. By taking the mule trail, along 1.8 kilometers, we descend on foot to Patitiri. Superb views at the end of the day.

Votsi

Alonissos-Votsi

VOTSI finally, is the third largest town of the island and where the villas. It is located 3km drive (or 1.5 kilometers along the trail side) Patitiri and 4 km from the old town, it is smaller and quieter. His charming little fishing port has two taverns right on the water, 300m from the house. The sandy and shingle 80m from the house, in the shade of pine trees in the early morning sun and the rest of the day. One can make a delicious morning swim until everyone is ready for a day excursion to … Votsi also a small supermarket 500m from the house.

Alonissos

Alonissos Villa Grece vacances holiday

L’archipel des Sporades fut pendant longtemps oublié du tourisme qui lui préférait les Cyclades. Durant la dernière décade, la surexploitation touristique des Cyclades et l’évolution des tendances touristiques vers des destinations plus authentiques et moins brutalisées par les activités humaines, ont poussé certains voyageurs à visiter les Sporades. Les Sporades les plus proches du continent ont déjà vécu un développement touristique intense, comme Skiathos (et son aéroport) ou Skopelos.

Alonissos fut décrétée en 1992 Parc Maritime National avec l’aide de l’Union Européenne, ce qui assura à cette île une destinée différente de ses sœurs. L’île et ses environs abritent un écosystème relativement peu perturbé par l’Homme comme en témoigne la présence du fragile phoque moine, le second pinnipède le plus rare au monde. La préservation de ses sites archéologiques est une raison supplémentaire pour laquelle cette île a réussi à développer un tourisme plus responsable et soucieux de la préservation de sa faune et de sa flore, sur terre et dans la mer. L’eau est d’une clarté exceptionnelle et l’endroit est un paradis pour les adeptes du snorkelling.

Avec presque 3000 habitants, en majorité pêcheurs et agriculteurs, l’île s’étire sur environ 40 km. Trois villages concentrent dans la partie sud de l’île la quasi-totalité des habitations :

Patitiri

Alonissos Villa Grece vacances holiday

PATITIRI est le port principal et le village le plus animé. On y trouve le gros des commerces, locations de tout type de véhicules, la mairie, le centre de santé et les médecins, deux pharmacies, une banque et bien sur, un bon nombre de tavernes et de bars, les pieds dans l’eau.

Le vieux village

Alonissos Villa Grece vacances holiday

Le vieux village (‘Xhora’), fut stratégiquement placé en hauteur afin de surveiller les arrivées de pirates. Après le séisme de 1966, le village fut reconstruit à l’identique. À cette hauteur, on peut voir la mer de partout, l’île s’étend vers le Nord-Est ainsi qu’une partie des petites îles inhabitées aux alentours. Le coucher de soleil sur Skopelos est à ne pas manquer. Village animé, surtout le soir, il abrite de très bons restaurants. En empruntant le sentier des mûletiers, long de 1,8km, on redescend à pied vers Patitiri. Vues superbes en fin de journée.

Votsi

Alonissos Villa Grece vacances holiday

VOTSI enfin, est le troisième village de l’île et où se trouvent les villas. Il se situe à 3km de route (ou 1,5km en longeant le sentier de la cote) de Patitiri et à 4 km du Vieux village, il est plus petit et plus calme. Son charmant petit port de pêche dispose de deux petites tavernes au bord de l’eau, à 300m de la maison. La plage de sable et galets à 80m de la maison, est à l’ombre des pins tôt le matin et ensoleillée le reste de la journée. On peut y prendre une délicieuse baignade matinale en attendant que tout le monde soit fin prêt pour l’excursion du jour… Votsi à aussi un petit super-marché à 500m de la maison.